Larry Coryell – Return

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Larry Coryell made his earliest recordings as a leader for Vanguard and most of his sessions from 1968-75. After working for a variety of other labels, he came back for this lone effort in 1979. Coryell’s basic sound was still the same as in his early fusion days, but the setting had changed. Joined by three of the Brubeck brothers (keyboardist Darius, electric bassist Chris and drummer Dan), along with percussionist Ray Mantilla, the guitarist performs three of his originals (including “Cisco at the Disco”), two Darius Brubeck numbers, and a selection co-written by Al DiMeola and Paco DeLucia. Although not one of his most significant dates, Larry Coryell sounds in fine form throughout this modern mainstream LP, stretching himself a bit (AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow,

Track listing:
1. Cisco At The Disco 5:37
Composed By – Larry Coryell
2. Rue Grégoire Du Tour 4:37
Composed By – Larry Coryell
3. Three Mile Island 5:50
Composed By – Darius Brubeck
4. Return 5:35
Composed By – Darius Brubeck
5. Sweet Shuffle 6:21
Composed By – Larry Coryell
6. Mediterranean Sundance / Entre Dos Aguas 5:49
Composed By – Al Di Meola, Paco De Lucia

Chris Brubeck – bass
Dan Brubeck – drums
Larry Coryell – guitar
Ray Mantilla – percussion
Darius Brubeck – piano

Label: Vanguard ‎– 064 CRY 63 396
Format: Vinyl, Album, LP
Country: Germany
Released: 1979