Kenny Barron Trio – Minor Blues

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Minor Blues is an album by pianist Kenny Barron recorded in New York in 2009 and released on the Japanese Venus label.

The Allmusic review by Ken Dryden awarded the album 4½ stars and stated “This is yet another fine example of Kenny Barron’s superb chops in a small-group setting.”

Track listing:
“Minor Blues” (Kenny Barron) – 6:29
“Beautiful Love” (Wayne King, Victor Young, Egbert Van Alstyne, Haven Gillespie) – 6:55
“Emily” (Johnny Mandel, Johnny Mercer) – 6:51
“For Heaven’s Sake” (Elise Bretton, Sherman Edwards, Donald Meyer) – 9:00
“How Deep Is the Ocean?” (Irving Berlin) – 8:16
“Too Late Now” (Burton Lane, Alan Jay Lerner) – 8:34
“Don’t Explain” (Billie Holiday, Arthur Herzog Jr.) – 6:30
“Hush-a-Bye” (Ambroise Thomas, Sammy Fain, Jerry Seelen) – 6:22
“I’ve Never Been in Love Before” (Frank Loesser) – 6:49
“My Ideal” (Leo Robin, Richard A. Whiting, Newell Chase) – 6:37

Kenny Barron – piano
George Mraz – bass
Ben Riley – drums


Released: August 19, 2009
Recorded: May 4–5, 2009
Studio: Avatar, New York City
Length: 72:23
Label: Venus
Producer: Tetsuo Hara and Todd Barkan