Julian Priester – Keep Swingin’ (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Keep Swingin is a 1960 album by American jazz trombonist Julian Priester, his debut as leader, which was recorded and released by the Riverside label.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
Trombonist Julian Priester sounds very much under the influence of J.J. Johnson during his debut as a leader, a Riverside date reissued on CD in the Original Jazz Classics series. The repertoire is comprised of four Priester originals, one apiece by Jimmy Heath (whose tenor makes the group a quintet on five of the eight songs) and baritonist Charles Davis, and two standards. Priester is heard in his early prime on a warm version of “Once in a While” and plays solid hard bop with pianist Tommy Flanagan, bassist Sam Jones, drummer Elvin Jones, and sometimes Heath on this swinging, modern, mainstream session (http://www.allmusic.com/album/keep-swingin-mw0000177160).

Track listing:
All compositions by Julian Priester except as indicated

“24-Hour Leave” (Jimmy Heath) – 7:00
“The End” – 3:51
“1239A” (Charles Davis) – 3:03
“Just Friends” (John Klenner, Sam M. Lewis) – 3:51
“Bob T’s Blues” – 3:57
“Under the Surface” – 4:21
“Once in a While” (Michael Edwards, Bud Green) – 5:21
“Julian’s Tune” – 4:19

Julian Priester – trombone
Jimmy Heath – tenor saxophone (tracks 1, 2, 4, 6 & 7)
Tommy Flanagan – piano
Sam Jones – bass
Elvin Jones – drums

Released: 1960
Recorded: January 11, 1960
New York City
Length: 35:43
Label: Riverside
RLP 12-316
Producer: Orrin Keepnews