Joshua Redman Quartet – Come What May (2019)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!

Joshua Redman Quartet's Come What May is the first album in almost two decades from this group of musicians-the saxophonist and his longtime friends and colleagues pianist Aaron Goldberg, bassist Reuben Rogers, and drummer Gregory Hutchinson-and features seven Redman tunes. "Mr. Redman's place is secure as one of the most effusive and engaging tenor saxophonists in straight-ahead jazz," says the New York Times, and the Quartet is "well attuned to his language of elastic tenacity."

Come What May is a studio album by American jazz saxophonist Joshua Redman. The album was recorded as a quartet and released on March 29, 2019 by Nonesuch Records.

“Joshua Redman’s excellent new album marks a homecoming of sorts. The tenor saxophonist is joined by Aaron Goldberg on piano, Reuben Rogers on bass, and Gregory Hutchinson on drums—an immaculate rhythm section Redman last played with on his 2001 release, Passage of Time. The band first recorded together on Beyond, the year before. Nearly 20 years have gone by since then, though their rapport is none the worse for it. If anything, the quartet now sounds wiser and more self-assured.” – Matthew Kassel/JazzTimes.

Track listing:
All tracks written by Joshua Redman.

1. “Circle of Life” 6:55
2. “I’ll Go Mine” 7:14
3. “Come What May” 6:45
4. “How We Do” 3:31
5. “DGAF” 4:47
6. “Stagger Bear” 6:02
7. “Vast” 7:48

Joshua Redman – tenor saxophone
Reuben Rogers – bass
Gregory Hutchinson – drums
Aaron Goldberg – piano


Released: March 29, 2019
Recorded: May 8–9, 2018
Studio Sear Sound, NYC
Length: 43:08
Label: Nonesuch
Producer: Joshua Redman