John Pizzarelli – Bossa Nova (2004)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Bossa Nova is a 2004 Brazilian jazz album by jazz guitarist John Pizzarelli, who is typically known for his swing guitar skills. While not Brazilian, he has always enjoyed the music and therefore wanted to record this album.

“John Pizzarelli’s love affair with the bossa nova stretched back over two decades prior to the making of this CD, which is his salute to the legendary João Gilberto. Accompanied by his regular group (pianist Ray Kennedy and bassist Martin Pizzarelli) and augmented by drummer Paulinho Braga and percussionist Jim Saporito, along with several others on selected tracks, Pizzarelli’s soft, swinging vocals and strong but understated guitar work their magic throughout the session. … The intimate sound throughout this recording is an additional bonus.” – Ken Dryden/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“One Note Samba” (Jobim) – 4:42
“Fascinatin’ Rhythm” (Gershwin, Gershwin) – 3:53
“The Girl From Ipanema” (DeMoraes, Gimbel, Jobim) – 4:55
“Your Smiling Face” (Taylor) – 2:57
“Estate” (Brighetti, Martino) – 4:58
“Desafinado” (Jobim, Lees, Mendonca) – 2:35
“Aquelas Coisas Todas” (All Those Things) (Horta) – 5:28
“I Remember” (Sondheim) – 3:45
“Francesca” (Pizzarelli) – 4:32
“Love Dance” (Lins, Williams) – 3:39
“Só Danço Samba” (DeMoraes, Jobim) – 3:29
“Aguas De Marco” (Waters Of March)” (Jobim) – 3:59
“Soares Samba” (Pizzarelli) – 4:56

John Pizzarelli – vocals, guitar
Ray Kennedy – piano
Martin Pizzarelli – double-bass
Harry Allen – tenor saxophone
Paulinho Braga – drums
Jim Saporito – percussion


Released: April 27, 2004
Recorded: May 5–9, 2003
Length: 53:48
Label: Telarc Records