Joe Pass – Joy Spring (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Joy Spring is a live album by jazz guitarist Joe Pass. It was released in 1964 on Pacific Jazz Records.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
Joe Pass was near the beginning of his career (after a decade of fighting drug addiction) when he recorded this live quartet session. The great guitarist was in his early prime, nine years before he started recording for Pablo. Pass is immediately recognizable on the straight-ahead bebop date and is supported by a fine rhythm section that includes pianist Mike Wofford, bassist Jim Hughart, and drummer Colin Bailey. The group stretches out on five standards (the renditions are six-and-a-half and two-and-a-half minutes apiece) but never runs out of inventive ideas. Easily recommended.

Track listing:
“Joy Spring” (Clifford Brown) – 8:39
“Sometime Ago” (Sergio Mihanovich) – 6:34
“The Night Has a Thousand Eyes” (Buddy Bernier, Jerry Brainin) – 6:58
“Relaxin’ at Camarillo” (Charlie Parker) – 10:29
“There Is No Greater Love” (Isham Jones, Marty Symes) – 9:02

Joe Pass – guitar
Mike Wofford – piano
Colin Bailey – drums
Jim Hughart – bass


Released: 1964
Recorded: February 6, 1964, Encore Theater, Los Angeles
Length: 41:42
Label: Pacific Jazz
Producer: Richard Bock