Joe McPhee / Dominic Duval – The Dream Book

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Dream Book is a live album by multi-instrumentalist Joe McPhee and bassist Dominic Duval recorded at the Knitting Factory in 1999 and released on the Cadence Jazz label.

“The music is a worthy tribute, as McPhee and Duval produce marvelous, generally subdued songs that merely hint at (and never ape) their namesakes. With total command of their instruments, and endless ideas, the duo produces expectantly stunning results. Wondrous and evocative.” – Steve Loewy/AllMusic.

Track listing:
All compositions by Joe McPhee and Domenic Duval except where noted.

“Dance of the Reasons Why” – 18:53
“Beyond the Truth-Lies” – 8:17
“Moffett’s Motif” – 6:39
“Old Eyes” (Joe McPhee) – 5:28
“Caught in the Moment” – 10:14
“And Then Red” – 4:54
“Celebration” – 2:00

Joe McPhee – alto saxophone, pocket trumpet
Dominic Duval – bass


Released: 1999
Recorded: August 27, 1998
Venue: Knitting Factory, NYC.
Length: 59:57
Label: Cadence Jazz CJR 1105
Producer: Bob Rusch