Joe Harriott Quintet ‎– Abstract

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Abstract is an album by Jamaican saxophonist Joe Harriott, recorded in England in November 1961 and May 1962, and released on the Columbia (UK) label in February 1963.

Allmusic awarded the album 4 stars and in its review by Thom Jurek, he states “Abstract is wonderful; it shows that the Brits were taking the new jazz of the early ’60s and placing a spin on it because they had a few players like Joe Harriott. Here is a musician deserving of a wide reappraisal. Let’s hope he gets it”.

Track listing:
All compositions by Joe Harriott except “Subject”, by Joe Harriott and John Mayer; “Oleo,” by Sonny Rollins.

“Subject” – 5:58
“Shadows” – 5:44
“Oleo” – 7:06
“Modal” – 4:44
“Tonal” – 5:08
“Pictures” – 5:06
“Idioms” – 6:26
“Compound” – 5:04

Joe Harriott – alto saxophone
Shake Keane – trumpet
Pat Smythe – piano
Coleridge Goode – bass
Bobby Orr (tracks 1-4), Phil Seamen (tracks 5-8) – drums
Frank Holder – bongos (tracks 5 & 8)


Released: February 1963
Recorded: November 22, 1961, and May 10, 1962
London, England
Length: 45:16
Label: Columbia
33SX 1477