Jimmy Giuffre ‎- Tangents In Jazz

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Tangents in Jazz is the second album by American jazz clarinet and saxophone player, composer and arranger Jimmy Giuffre which was released on the Capitol label in 1956.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
Reissued in the 1980’s by Affinity and Pausa but not yet out on CD, this unusual set has Jimmy Giuffre (on clarinet, tenor and baritone) in a pianoless quartet with trumpeter Jack Sheldon, bassist Ralph Pena and drummer Artie Anton. The music (all but one of the ten numbers are by Giuffre) puts an emphasis on cool tones and relaxed improvising, hinting at folk themes but sounding quite modern for the time.

Track listing:
All compositions by Jimmy Giuffre except as indicated

“Scintilla I” – 0:53
“Finger Snapper” – 2:34
“Lazy Tones” – 4:10
“Scintilla II” – 2:27
“Chirpin’ Time” – 5:47
“This Is My Beloved” (Vernon Duke) – 3:30 (Vernon Duke)
“The Leprechaun” – 6:34
“Scintilla III” – 1:37
“Rhetoric” – 3:24
“Scintilla IV” – 2:52

Recorded at Capitol Studios in Los Angeles, CA on June 6, 1955 (tracks 4-6), June 7, 1955 (tracks 1, 3 & 10) and June 10, 1955 (tracks 2 & 7-9)

Jimmy Giuffre – clarinet, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone
Jack Sheldon – trumpet
Ralph Peña – bass
Artie Anton – drums


Released: 1956
Recorded: June 6, 7 & 10, 1955
Capitol Studios, Los Angeles, CA
Label: Capitol
T 634