James Moody – Last Train From Overbrook (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Last Train from Overbrook is an album by saxophonist James Moody recorded in 1958 and released on the Argo label.

““Last Train From Overbrook,” by jazz saxophonist and composer James Moody, starts off in chugging mode, and never lets up. It’s a brisk, almost bursting-at-the-seams instrumental, which makes sense, given the circumstances under which it was recorded.

Moody, who was raised in Newark and lived in the Newark area for much of his life, spent several months at the Overbrook psychiatric hospital in Cedar Grove in 1958; he was struggling with alcoholism, according to his 2010 New York Times obituary. In “Last Train From Overbrook,” you can feel the pent-up energy; he can’t wait, it seems, to get on with his life.

“Last Train From Overbrook” became the title track of an album Moody released in ’58. He had established himself as an important jazz artist before then, and remained a widely respected and much-loved performer for decades afterwards.” – Jay Lusting/NJArts.


Track listing:
Last Train from Overbrook” (James Moody) – 2:55
Don’t Worry ‘Bout Me” (Rube Bloom, Ted Koehler) – 2:35
Why Don’t You?” (Johnny Pate) – 2:18
What’s New?” (Johnny Burke, Bob Haggart) – 3:22
Tico-Tico” (Jose Abreu) – 1:37
There She Goes” (James Moody) – 2:18
All the Things You Are” (Oscar Hammerstein II, Jerome Kern) – 2:03
Brother Yusef” (Pate) – 3:04
Yvonne” (Pate) (James Moody) – 3:35
The Moody One” [false start] (Pate) – 0:45
The Moody One” (Pate) – 2:38

James Moody – tenor saxophone, alto saxophone, flute
Flip Ricard, Earl Turner, Sonny Cohn – trumpet
Ethel Merker – french horn on Last Train from Overbrook
John Avant – trombone
Bill Atkins, Lenny Druss – alto saxophone
Vito Price, Sandy Mosse, Eddie Johnson – tenor saxophone
Pat Patrick – baritone saxophone
Junior Mance – piano
Floyd Morris – piano
Johnny Pate – bass
John Gray – guitar
Red Holt – drums


Released: 1958
Recorded: September 7, 8 & 10, 1958
Label: Argo
LP 637
Producer: Dave Usher