James Clay – A Double Dose of Soul

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


A Double Dose of Soul is the second album by saxophonist/flautist James Clay featuring performances recorded in 1960 and originally released on the Riverside label.

The Allmusic review by Scott Yanow awarded the album 4½ stars and stated “Clay splits his time between his lyrical flute and tough tenor, proving to be an excellent bop-based improviser.”

Track listing:
“New Delhi” (Victor Feldman) – 6:35
“I Remember You” (Victor Schertzinger, Johnny Mercer) – 6:30
“Come Rain or Come Shine” (Harold Arlen, Mercer) – 6:33
“Pockets” (Nat Adderley) – 5:36
“Pavanne” (Feldman) – 6:07
“Linda Serene” (Daniel Jackson) – 8:02
“Lost Tears”(Jackson) – 4:06
“New Delhi” [alternate take] (Feldman) – 3:12 Bonus track on CD reissue
“Come Rain or Come Shine” [alternate take] (Arlen, Mercer) – 3:11 Bonus track on CD reissue

James Clay – tenor saxophone, flute
Nat Adderley – cornet
Victor Feldman – vibraphone
Gene Harris – piano
Sam Jones – bass
Louis Hayes – drums


Released: 1960
Recorded: October 11, 1960
Studio Los Angeles, CA
Length: 46:41
Label: Riverside
RLP 349
Producer: Orrin Keepnews