Jack McDuff – Sophisticated Funk (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Sophisticated Funk is an album by organist Jack McDuff recorded in 1976 and released on the Chess label.

“Sophisticated…maybe. Funky…not so much. This forgettable effort from Jack McDuff veers far too close to smooth jazz territory for comfort – swapping his signature Hammond B-3 for keyboards, McDuff settles for a fusion sound suggesting a particularly tepid CTI session, with none of the swagger and groove of his most memorable records. Saxophonist/flutist Joe Harrell is similarly tentative, although one must blame Billy Jones’ overly slick arrangements — there’s really not much chance of salvaging cuts like “Mini Pads” and “‘Mannix’ Theme.” Definitely don’t judge this one by its lurid cover – it’s as tame as a de-clawed house cat.” – Jason Ankeny/AllMusic.

Track listing:
All compositions by Jack McDuff and Billy Jones except as indicated

“Dit Da Dit” – 6:00
“Ju Ju” (Billy Jones) – 6:49
“To Be Named Later” – 4:50
“Summer Dream” – 4:50
“Jack’s Boogie” – 3:32
“Mini Pads” – 5:50
“Electric Surf Board” (Jack McDuff) – 5:17
“Mannix Theme” (Lalo Schifrin) – 3:26

Jack McDuff – organ, piano, electric piano
Joe Farrell – saxophones, flute
Brian Cuomo – piano
Robert Banks, Walter Morris – guitar
Billy Jones – guitar, percussion
Frank Prescod – electric bass
Joe Corsello, Ted McKinsey, Clarence Oliver, Arnold Ramsey, Scott Schoer – drums
Craig Derry, Scott Saunders – congas, percussion


Released: 1976
Recorded: 1976
All Platinum Studios, Englewood, New Jersey
Label: Chess
Producer: Billy Jones