Illinois Jacquet – Swing’s the Thing

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Swing’s the Thing is an album by American jazz saxophonist Illinois Jacquet, recorded in late 1956 and released on the Clef label.

“This is essential Jacquet.” – Thom Jurek/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Las Vegas Blues” (Roy Eldridge) – 6:17
“Harlem Nocturne” (Earle Hagen, Dick Rodgers) – 4:31
“Can’t We Be Friends?” (Paul James, Kay Swift) – 6:42
“Achtung” (Illinois Jacquet) – 5:06
“Have You Met Miss Jones?” (Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart) – 5:56
“Lullaby of the Leaves” (Bernice Petkere, Joe Young) – 5:44

Illinois Jacquet – tenor saxophone
Roy Eldridge – trumpet
Jimmy Jones – piano
Herb Ellis – guitar
Ray Brown – bass
Jo Jones – drums


Released: 1956
Recorded: October 16, 1956
Studio: Radio Recorders, Hollywood, CA
Length: 34:16
Label: Clef
MGC 750
Producer: Norman Granz