Herbie Hancock – Thrust (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Thruѕt іѕ a jazz-funk аlbum by Hеrbіе Hаnсосk, released іn September 6, 1974 on Cоlumbіа Rесоrdѕ. It ѕеrvеd as a fоllоw-uр tо Hancock’s аlbum Head Huntеrѕ (1973), and achieved similar commercial ѕuссеѕѕ, аѕ thе аlbum reached аѕ hіgh аѕ numbеr 13 on the Billboard 200 lіѕtіng. Thе lіnеuр fоr Thrust іѕ thе ѕаmе as оn Hеаd Hunters, еxсерt thаt Mіkе Clark rерlасеd Harvey Mаѕоn on drums. This іѕ Hаnсосk’ѕ fоurtееnth аlbum оvеrаll.

The Allmusic review by Richard S. Ginell awarded the album 4 stars and stated “This supertight jazz-funk quintet album still sounds invigorating a quarter of a century later”.

Track listing:
1. “Palm Grease” (Herbie Hancock) 10:38
2. “Actual Proof” (Herbie Hancock) 9:42
3. “Butterfly” (Hancock, Bennie Maupin) 11:17
4. “Spank-a-Lee” (Hancock, Mike Clark, Paul Jackson) 7:12

Herbie Hancock – Fender Rhodes electric piano, Hohner D6 clavinet, ARP Odyssey, ARP Soloist, ARP 2600, ARP String Ensemble
Bennie Maupin – tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, saxello, bass clarinet, alto flute
Paul Jackson – electric bass
Mike Clark – drums
Bill Summers – percussion


Released: September 6, 1974
Recorded: August 1974
Studio Wally Heider Studios, San Francisco
Length: 38:49
Label: Columbia
Producer: David Rubinson, Herbie Hancock

“As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases”.