Herbie Hancock – Secrets

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Secrets is a jazz-funk fusion album by keyboard player Herbie Hancock. It is also Hancock’s seventeenth album overall. Participating musicians include saxophonist Bennie Maupin and guitarist Wah Wah Watson.



Track listing:
“Doin’ It” (Melvin Ragin, Ray Parker Jr.) – 8:03
“People Music” (Herbie Hancock, Ragin, Paul Jackson) – 7:11
“Cantelope Island” [sic] (Hancock) – 7:06
“Spider” (Ragin, Hancock, Jackson) – 7:21
“Gentle Thoughts” (Hancock, Ragin) – 7:05
“Swamp Rat” (Jackson, Hancock, Ragin) – 6:26
“Sansho Shima” (Bennie Maupin) – 4:50

James Gadson – drums on Doin’ It
Herbie Hancock – acoustic piano, Rhodes electric piano, electric grand piano, ARP Odyssey, ARP String Ensemble, Hohner D6 Clavinet, Micromoog, Oberheim 4 Voice, Echoplex
Bennie Maupin – soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, saxello, lyricon, bass clarinet
Ray Parker Jr. – guitar, backing vocals on “Doin’ It”
Paul Jackson – bass
James Levi – drums
Kenneth Nash – percussion, cuíca
Wah Wah Watson – guitar, Maestro universal synthesiser system / sample and hold unit, voice bag; vocals & bass on “Doin’ It” Co-Producer.


Released: August 1976
Recorded: San Francisco, CA
Length: 47:57
Label: Columbia
Producer: David Rubinson, Herbie Hancock