Harry James and His Orchestra – 1940/1941 (Broadcast: Southland Cafe/ The Blue Room)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Broadcasts from the Southland Cafe, Boston, 1940 (Side A) & from Hotel Lincoln, NYC, 1941 (side B).
Record produced from unpublished recording dating back more than 30 years. A few changes such as removing scratches have been made. Nevertheless, surface noises have not been completely eliminated in order to not destroy the original sound on these renderings.

Track listing:
A1 Caribirin (Theme) 0:00
A2 Tuxedo Junction 0:53
A3 How High The Moon 4:59
A4 Cherokee 8:04
A5 Carnival Of Venice 12:33
A6 Girl Of My Dreams 15:33
A7 It’s A Wonderful World 19:08
B1 Relaxin’ 23:57
B2 Tabu 27:08
B3 Cherry 29:53
B4 Number Ten Lullaby Lane 34:23
B5 Andalucia (The Breeze And I) 37:12
B6 For Want Of A Star 40:16
B7 Jeffrie’s Blues 43:35

Baritone Saxophone – Chuck Gentry (tracks: B1 to B7)
Bass – Thurman Teague
Drums – Mickey Scrima
Guitar – Ben Heller (tracks: B1 to B7), Bryan Kent (tracks: A1 to A7)
Piano – Al Lerner (2) (tracks: B1 to B7), Jack Gardner (tracks: A1 to A7)
Saxophone – Claude Lakey, Dave Matthews (2) (tracks: A1 to A7), Johnny Mezey (tracks: B1 to B7)
Tenor Saxophone – Bill Luther (tracks: A1 to A7), Drew Page (tracks: A1 to A7), Vido Musso (tracks: B1 to B7)
Trombone – Bruce Squires (tracks: A1 to A7), Dalton Rizzotto, Harry Rodgers (tracks: B1 to B7), Hoyt Bohannon (tracks: B1 to B7), Truett Jones (tracks: A1 to A7)
Trumpet – Al Stearns (tracks: B1 to B7), Claude Bowen, Harry James (2), Jack Palmer (tracks: A1 to A7), Jack Schaeffer (tracks: A1 to A7), Nick Buono (tracks: B1 to B7)
Label: Musidisc ‎– 30 JA 5150, Musidisc ‎– JA 5150
Series: Jazz Anthology
Format: Vinyl, LP
Country: France
Released: 1975