Harold Land — Harold in the Land of Jazz (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Harold in the Land of Jazz (also released as Grooveyard) is the debut album by saxophonist Harold Land recorded in 1958 and released on the Contemporary label.

The Allmusic review by Scott Yanow awarded the album 4½ stars and stated: “His (Harold Land)  tone is cooler and softer than it would become later on, but it was already pretty distinctive”.

Track listing:
Speak Low” (Kurt Weill, Ogden Nash) – 5:35
Delirium” (Harold Land) – 6:40
You Don’t Know What Love Is” (Gene de Paul, Don Raye) – 3:55
Nieta” (Elmo Hope) – 4:35
Grooveyard” (Carl Perkins) – 7:02
Lydia’s Lament“(Harold Land) – 5:46
Smack Up“(Harold Land) – 7:11
Promised Land“(Harold Land) – 6:27 Bonus track on CD reissue

Harold Land – tenor saxophone
Rolf Ericson – trumpet
Carl Perkins – piano
Leroy Vinnegar – bass
Frank Butler – drums


Released: 1958
Recorded: January 13 & 14, 1958
Contemporary Records Studio, Los Angeles, California
Length: 47:11
Label: Contemporary C 3550
Producer: Lester Koenig