Geri Allen Trio – Twenty One

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Twenty One is an album by pianist Geri Allen with bassist Ron Carter and drummer Tony Williams recorded in 1994 and released on the Blue Note label. The title of the album refers to the commitment Allen made at age 21 to continue and extend the tradition of the jazz masters.

Writer Gary Giddins called the album “a display of strength” and “a mature work by a performer… who was repositioning herself as a jazz centrist.” He commented: “This is a trio fearsomely alive… The triumph of Twenty One is in the certainty with which Allen’s individuality asserts itself in a setting that might have neutralized her.” .

Track listing:
All compositions by Geri Allen except as indicated

“RTG” – 2:46
“If I Should Lose You” (Ralph Rainger, Leo Robin) – 4:36
“Drummer’s Song” – 3:52
“Introspection/Thelonious” (Thelonious Monk) – 4:36
“A Beautiful Friendship” (Donald Kahn, Stanley Styne) – 3:23
“In the Morning” – 6:10
“Tea for Two” (Irving Caesar, Vincent Youmans) – 3:18
“Lullaby of the Leaves” (Bernice Petkere, Joe Young) – 5:15
“Feed the Fire” – 6:17
“Old Folks” (Dedette Lee Hill, Willard Robison) – 6:18
“A Place of Power” – 3:16
“In the Middle” – 4:25

Geri Allen – piano
Ron Carter – bass
Tony Williams – drums


Released: November 1994
Recorded: March 23–24, 1994
Studio: Manhattan Center Studios, NYC
Length: 54:18
Label: Blue Note CDP 8 30028
Producer: Herb Jordan & Teo Macero