George Benson – Giblet Gravy (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Giblet Gravy is the fourth album by jazz/soul guitarist George Benson.

AllMusic Review by Richard S. Ginell:
No, you’re not in Creed Taylor country yet, but you might as well be, for many of the ingredients that would garnish Benson’s albums with Taylor are already present in this often enjoyable prototype. The immediate goal was to groom Benson as the next Wes Montgomery (who was about to leave Verve) — and so he covers hit tunes of the day (“Sunny,” “Along Comes Mary,” “Groovin'”), playing either with a big band plus voices or a neat quintet anchored by Herbie Hancock, and the sound is contoured to give his guitar a warm mellow ambience. But the eclectic Benson is his own man, as his infectious repeated-interval rhythm trademark tells us on his self-composed title track, and despite Tom McIntosh’s mostly lame arrangements, George’s work is always tasty and irresistibly melodic.

Track listing:
1. “Along Comes Mary” Tandyn Almer 3:02
2. “Sunny” Bobby Hebb 2:56
3. “What’s New?” Bob Haggart, Johnny Burke 5:32
4. “Giblet Gravy” George Benson 4:50
5. “Walk On By” Burt Bacharach, Hal David 3:26
6. “Thunder Walk” Harold Ousley 4:42
7. “Sack O’ Woe” Cannonball Adderley 3:08
8. “Groovin'” Eddie Brigati, Felix Cavaliere 2:46
9. “Low Down and Dirty” Benson 8:40

George Benson – guitar
Albertine Robinson, Eileen Gilbert, Lois Winter – vocals
Eric Gale, – guitar, tracks 2, 4, 5, 7
Carl Lynch – guitar, track 1
Herbie Hancock – piano, tracks 3, 6, 9-12
Ron Carter – bass, tracks 1, 3, 6-12
Bob Cranshaw – bass, tracks 2, 4-5
Billy Cobham – drums
Johnny Pacheco – congas, tambourine
Pepper Adams – tenor saxophone, tracks 1-2, 4-5, 7-8
Ernie Royal, – trumpet, tracks 1-2, 4-5, 7-8
Snooky Young – trumpet, tracks 1-2, 4-5, 7-8
Jimmy Owens – trumpet, flugelhorn, tracks 1-2, 4-5, 7-8
Alan Raph – bass trombone. tracks 1-2, 4-5, 7-8
Tom McIntosh – arranger, conductor, tracks 1-2, 4-5, 7-8


Released: 1968
Recorded: February 1968
Studio A&R Recording Studios and Capitol Recording Studios, New York City
Length: 56:25
Label: Verve
Producer: Esmond Edwards