Freddie Hubbard ‎– Keep Your Soul Together (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Keep Your Soul Together is an album recorded in 1973 by jazz trumpeter Freddie Hubbard. It was his fifth studio album released on Creed Taylor’s CTI label and features performances by Hubbard, Junior Cook, George Cables, Aurell Ray, Kent Brinkley, Ron Carter, Ralph Penland and Juno Lewis.

“The music is sometimes funky but definitely creative jazz with Hubbard heard during his prime period.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

“Keep Your Soul Together is full of everything there is to love about the best of the electric jazz that was taking over the genre in the early 1970’s, it has moments of spacious beauty as well as that inventive full-tilt jamming that kept the music funky and creative.” – The Jazz Record.

Track listing:

All compositions by Freddie Hubbard.

“Brigitte” – 9:10
“Keep Your Soul Together” – 9:55
“Spirits of Trane” – 9:10
“Destiny’s Children” – 10:20

Freddie Hubbard – trumpet
Junior Cook – tenor saxophone
George Cables – electric piano
Aurell Ray – guitar
Kent Brinkley – bass
Ron Carter – electric bass
Ralph Penland – drums
Juno Lewis – percussion


Released: Early January 1974
Recorded: October 5 and 23, 1973
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Length: 38:35
Label: CTI
CTI 6036
Producer: Creed Taylor