Fourplay – X

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


X is the ninth studio album by Fourplay, released in 2006.

“Smooth-jazz journeymen Fourplay reunite for X and deliver more solid, lite-instrumental sounds. Centered around the talents of keyboardist Bob James, guitarist Larry Carlton, bassist Nathan East and drummer Harvey Mason, Fourplay also feature here blue-eyed-soul icon Michael Mcdonald who takes an inspired vocal turn on the Steve Winwood tune “My Love’s Leavin’. It’s a great track that nicely exploits the aesthetic connection and ’70s heritage of both smooth jazz and soft-rock. Similarly appealing are James’s noirish “Screenplay showcasing Carlton’s bluesy chops and James’s urbane keyboard style; as well as East’s slow R&B ballad “Sunday Morning”. This is a softly-funky, superbly crafted and unapologetically low key album. Frankly, that’s what longtime fans have come to expect from these masters of smooth and in that sense X succeeds.” – Matt Collar/AllMusic.



Track listing:
“Turnabout” (Bob James) – 6:21
“Cinnamon Sugar” (Larry Carlton) – 4:48
“Eastern Sky” (Marcel East, Nathan East) – 6:37
“Kid Zero” (Harvey Mason, Sr.) – 4:48
“My Love’s Leavin'”; feat. Michael McDonald (Vivian Stanshall, Steve Winwood) – 5:11
“Screenplay” (Bob James) – 6:04
“Twilight Touch” (Harvey Mason, Sr.) – 4:57
“Be My Lover” (Larry Carlton, Nathan East) – 4:13
“Sunday Morning” (Nathan East) – 3:53

Bob James – keyboards
Larry Carlton – guitars
Nathan East – bass, vocals (1, 3, 8)
Harvey Mason – drums


Released: August 8, 2006
Studio: Glenwood Place Studios and Track Record Studios (Burbank, California)
Label: Arista
Producer: Ken Freeman and Fourplay