Elmo Hope Sextet – Informal Jazz (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Informal Jazz is an album by Elmo Hope, released in 1956 on Prestige Records. It has been reissued in 1969 as Two Tenors under the billing of Hope’s sidemen for the session, John Coltrane and Hank Mobley.

Track listing:
“Weeja” (Elmo Hope) — 11:00
“Polka Dots and Moonbeams” (Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke) — 8:31
“On It” (Elmo Hope) — 8:58
“Avalon” (Al Jolson, Buddy DeSylva, Vincent Rose) — 9:37

Elmo Hope — piano
Donald Byrd — trumpet
John Coltrane, Hank Mobley — tenor saxophone
Paul Chambers — bass
Philly Joe Jones — drums


Released: 1956
Recorded: Recorded May 7, 1956 at Van Gelder Studio in Hackensack, NJ
Label: Prestige Records
Producer: Bob Weinstock