Eddie Henderson – Realization (1973)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Realization is the debut album by American jazz trumpeter Eddie Henderson recorded in 1973 and released on the Capricorn label.

“Although the electric Herbie Hancock Sextet (and septet) left only a slim three-album discography on Warner Bros. and Columbia, you can expand it considerably by adding the two LPs that Eddie Henderson made as a leader on Capricorn — a Georgia rock label known mostly for recording the Allman Brothers. Henderson’s band is, in fact, the Hancock Septet minus Julian Priester with a second drummer (Lenny White) added, and they play the same brand of fantastic, electronically charged, intergalactic jazz-rock. Henderson extends and develops the Hancock approach, sputtering and moving laconically about in a manner greatly affected by Miles Davis but more ebullient in tone. There are five compositions here, most of them by Henderson, with a contribution from Hancock (the subtly beautiful “Revelation”) and the delicately textured “Anua” from Bennie Maupin. The drumming (from White and Billy Hart) is brilliantly propulsive; Hancock logs a lot of solo time and gets to play with his Echoplex, while Patrick Gleeson slips in mind-blowing streaks and whooshes of sound from his Moog and ARP synthesizers. This is one of the great lost treasures of the jazz-rock era; the music is a bit looser than that of the Hancock records yet every bit as invigorating and forward-thrusting. [In 2005 the British Soul Brother label combined Realization and Inside Out, Eddie Henderson’s second Capricorn album, onto a single-disc CD compilation entitled Anthology, Vol. 2: The Capricorn Years: Realization/Inside Out.]” – Richard S. Ginell/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Scorpio-Libra” (Eddie Henderson)- 11:12
“Mars in Libra” (Eddie Henderson) – 8:40
“Anua” (Bennie Maupin) – 8:50
“Spiritual Awakening” (Eddie Henderson) – 2:38
“Revelation Realization” (Herbie Hancock, Eddie Henderson) – 8:00

Eddie Henderson – trumpet, flugelhorn, cornet
Bennie Maupin – bass clarinet, flute, alto flute, tenor saxophone
Herbie Hancock – electric piano
Patrick Gleeson – synthesizer, organ
Buster Williams – bass, electric bass
Billy Hart – drums, percussion
Lenny White – drums


Released: 1973
Recorded: February 27 and 28, 1973
Studio: Different Fur Trading Company, San Francisco
Length: 39:20
Label: Capricorn CP 0118
Producer: Skip Drinkwater, Patrick Gleeson