Don Patterson – Boppin’ & Burnin’ (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Boppin’ & Burnin’ is an album by organist Don Patterson recorded in 1968 and released on the Prestige label.

“Although organist Don Patterson is the leader of this set that in 1998 was reissued on a CD, the quintet date is most notable for the playing of trumpeter Howard McGhee. McGhee, who had not been heard from much on record for a few years, proves to still be in prime form. Altoist Charles McPherson, the young guitarist Pat Martino and drummer Billy James complete the group. The repertoire is particularly strong with two McGhee originals (including the memorable and haunting “Island Fantasy”), “Epistrophy,” “Now’s The Time” and a trumpet feature on “Donna Lee.” Highly recommended.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Pisces Soul” (Howard McGhee) – 13:58
“Donna Lee” (Charlie Parker) – 6:15
“Island Fantasy” (Howard McGhee) – 6:39
“Epistrophy” (Kenny Clarke, Thelonious Monk) – 5:09
“Now’s the Time” (Charlie Parker) – 7:37

Don Patterson – organ
Howard McGhee – trumpet
Charles McPherson – alto saxophone (tracks 1, 3-5)
Pat Martino – guitar
Billy James – drums


Released: 1968
Recorded: February 22, 1968
New York City
Length: 39:38
Label: Prestige
PR 7563
Producer: Don Schlitten