Dave Valentin – Kalahari (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“The colorful cover artwork complements the colorful music by flutist Dave Valentin. Kalahari has ballads that are beautiful and upbeat tunes heavy on syncopated beats with tons of Latin percussion. Included on the album are Wayne Shorter’s “Fall” and Sonny Rollins’ “Reel Life,” in addition to several tunes penned by Valentin. Dave Grusin and Kevin Eubanks make guest appearances. A fine set.” – Tim Griggs/AllMusic.

Track listing:

00:00 Eclipse [Composed by Bill O’Connell]
05:01 Monkey Buttons [Lincoln Goines]
09:52 Encendido (On Fire) [Dave Valentin]
13:26 Fall [Wayne Shorter]
18:56 Reel Life [Sonny Rollins]
22:18 September Nights [O’Donel Levy]
27:03 Kalahari (An Improvisation) [Dave Valentin, Robert Ameen]
29:51 My Coqui [Dave Valentin]
34:19 New Beginnings [Dave Valentin]


Dave Valentin – flute
Lincoln Goines – bass
Robert Ameen – drums
Bill O’Connell (tracks 1-5, 8, 9) – electric piano, piano, synthesizer
Dave Grusin (6) – electric piano
Kevin Eubanks (6) – acoustic guitar
Roger Squitero (4, 6-9) – percussion


Label: GRP ‎– GRP-A-1009
Format: Vinyl, LP, CD, Album
Country: US
Released: 1984