Dave Holland Quintet – Critical Mass

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Critical Mass is a studio album by the Dave Holland Quintet released in 2006 through Dare2, his second release for his own label.

John Kelman of All About Jazz wrote, “Proof that it’s possible to retain one’s identity while breaking new ground, Critical Mass continues a streak of winning records for Holland that shows no sign of letting up.”

John Fordham of The Guardian added, ” It’s unflinching contemporary instrumental jazz, but as subtly melodic as Holland’s bands always are.”



Track listing:
All tracks are written by Dave Holland except as noted

1. “The Eyes Have It” 7:00
2. “Easy Did It” 11:16
3. “Vicissitudes” Chris Potter 9:56
4. “The Leak” Nate Smith 5:42
5. “Secret Garden” 8:42
6. “Lucky Seven” 8:35
7. “Full Circle” Robin Eubanks 12:11
8. “Amator Silenti” Steve Nelson 9:17
Total length: 1:12:50

Chris Potter – tenor & soprano saxophones
Robin Eubanks – trombone
Steve Nelson – vibraphone, marimba & tambourine
Dave Holland – double bass
Nate Smith – drums


Released: August 29, 2006
Recorded: December 2005
Studio: Avatar, New York City
Length: 1:12:50
Label: Dare2/Sunnyside
Producer Dave Holland