Curtis Fuller – Soul Trombone (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Soul Trombone is an album by American jazz trombonist Curtis Fuller featuring performances recorded in 1961 for the Impulse! label.

AllMusic Review by Ken Dryden:
Curtis Fuller was very busy as a leader between his recording debut in 1957 and these 1961 sessions, which made up his first LP for Impulse and his eighteenth overall disc of his own. Though not quite as adventurous on the trombone as J.J. Johnson, Fuller more than holds his own leading a band including Freddie Hubbard, Jimmy Heath, Jymie Merritt, and either Jimmy Cobb or G.T. Hogan on drums. The solos on this hard bop disc are superb, with Fuller giving his musicians plenty of room, while his own work is first-rate. Three of the six pieces are originals and even if they never caught on, there is no filler present anywhere.

Track listing:
All compositions by Curtis Fuller except as indicated
“The Clan” – 6:19
“In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning” (Bob Hilliard, David Mann) – 4:57
“Newdles” – 7:40
“The Breeze and I” (Ernesto Lecuona, Al Stillman) – 4:03
“Dear Old Stockholm” (Traditional) – 9:07
“Ladies’ Night” – 6:30
Recorded on November 15, 1961 (track 1), November 16, 1961 (tracks 2 & 3), and November 17, 1961 (tracks 4-6)

Curtis Fuller – trombone
Freddie Hubbard – trumpet
Jimmy Heath – tenor saxophone
Cedar Walton – piano
Jymie Merritt – bass
Jimmy Cobb (tracks 2-6), G. T. Hogan (track 1) – drums

Released: 1961
Recorded: November 15, 16 & 17, 1961
Capitol Studios, New York City
Length: 38:36
Label: Impulse!
Producer: Bob Thiele