Curtis Fuller – Four On The Outside (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Four on the Outside is an album by trombonist Curtis Fuller which was recorded in September 1978 and released on the Dutch Timeless label.

“While Curtis Fuller may have reached his peak in the 1960s, he continued to be an important voice well into the 1970s and beyond. This delightful set features him in a front line with Pepper Adams, and the trombone-baritone saxophone combination was a natural. (Curiously, few others have followed this intriguing coupling.) While there is no new ground broken, Adams and Fuller negotiate tunes mostly written by Fuller, with simple, yet elegant heads. The version of “Hello Young Lovers” is characteristically conservative, yet sharp and well rehearsed. Fuller’s nasal tone, machine gun-like spurts, and focus on the middle range on his horn complements Adams’ angular, boppish lines. The fine rhythm section of pianist James Williams, bassist Dennis Irwin, and drummer John Yarling never gets in the way, but lets the horns spread their wings.” – Steve Loewy/AllMusic.

Track listing:
All compositions by Curtis Fuller except as indicated

“Four on the Outside” – 4:54
“Suite Kathy” – 13:04
“Hello, Young Lovers” (Oscar Hammerstein II, Richard Rodgers) – 5:11
“Little Dreams” – 7:49
“Ballad for Gabe-Wells” – 8:19
“Corrida del Torro” – 7:35

Curtis Fuller – trombone
Pepper Adams – baritone saxophone
James Williams – piano
Dennis Irwin – bass
John Yarling – drums


Released: 1978
Recorded: September 18, 1978
Studio: C.I. Recording Studio, New York City
Length: 46:52
Label: Timeless
SJP 124
Producer: Wim Wigt