Count Basie and Joe Williams – Count Basie Swings, Joe Williams Sings (Full Album)

Share it with your friends Like

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Count Basie Swings, Joe Williams Sings is an album by pianist/bandleader Count Basie and vocalist Joe Williams recorded in 1955 and originally released on the Clef label.

Track listing:
“Every Day I Have the Blues” (Peter Chapman, Mayall York) – 5:29
“The Come Back” (Memphis Slim) – 5:28
“Alright, Okay, You Win” (Sidney Wyche) – 3:05
“In the Evening (When the Sun Goes Down)” (Leroy Carr, Don Raye) – 3:38
“Roll ‘Em Pete” (Pete Johnson, Big Joe Turner) – 3:12
“Teach Me Tonight” (Sammy Cahn, Gene DePaul) – 3:04
“My Baby Upsets Me” (Joe Williams) – 2:58
“Please Send Me Someone to Love” (Percy Mayfield) – 3:33
“Ev’ry Day” (Sammy Fain, Irving Kahal) – 3:48

Joe Williams – vocals
Count Basie – piano
Wendell Culley, Reunald Jones, Thad Jones, Joe Newman – trumpet
Henry Coker, Bill Hughes, Benny Powell – trombone
Marshall Royal – alto saxophone, clarinet
Bill Graham – alto saxophone
Frank Wess – alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, flute
Frank Foster – tenor saxophone
Charlie Fowlkes – baritone saxophone, bass clarinet
Freddie Green – guitar
Eddie Jones – bass
Sonny Payne – drums
Frank Foster (tracks 2-9), Ernie Wilkins (tracks 1 & 6) – arranger


Released: 1955
Recorded: May 17 and July 26, 1955
Fine Sound, New York City
Label: Clef
MG C-678
Producer: Norman Granz


Write a comment