Coleman Hawkins – At Ease With Coleman Hawkins (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


At Ease with Coleman Hawkins is an album by saxophonist Coleman Hawkins which was recorded in 1960 and released on the Moodsville label.

“Recorded originally for the Prestige subsidiary Moodsville, Coleman Hawkins (along with the Tommy Flanagan Trio) sticks exclusively to ballads and slower pieces, all played at a low flame. Although it is nice to hear the veteran tenor interpreting “Poor Butterfly” and “I’ll Get By,” this CD is more successful as pleasant background music than as creative jazz.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

“This recording isn’t fiery or out there, but it’s about as solid as one can be, and it proves (for about the millionth time) the mastery of Coleman Hawkins.” – Matt Cibula/AllAboutJazz.



Track listing:
“For You, For Me, For Evermore” (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) – 6:07
“While We’re Young” (William Engvick, Morty Palitz, Alec Wilder) – 3:33
“Then I’ll Be Tired of You” (Yip Harburg, Arthur Schwartz) – 5:08
“Mighty Like a Rose” (Ethelbert Nevin, Frank Lebby Stanton) – 4:00
“At Dawning” (Charles Wakefield Cadman) – 4:39
“Trouble Is a Man” (Wilder) – 5:25
“Poor Butterfly” (John Golden, Raymond Hubbell) – 6:06
“I’ll Get By (As Long as I Have You)” (Fred E. Ahlert, Roy Turk) – 6:36

Coleman Hawkins – tenor saxophone
Tommy Flanagan – piano
Wendell Marshall – bass
Osie Johnson – drums


Released: 1960
Recorded: January 29, 1960
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Length: 41:34
Label: Moodsville
MV 7
Producer: Esmond Edwards