Charlie Byrd, Herb Ellis, Barney Kessel – The Great Guitars (North Sea Jazz Festival-1982)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The concert was taped on 17 July 1982 in the Congress Gebouw, The Hague, The Netherlands during the North Sea Jazz Festival.

Set listing:

• “It’s the talk of the town” by Marty Symes, Al J. Nieburg, Jerry Livingston;
• “Undecided” by Sid Robin, Charlie Shavers;
• “A felicidade” by Vinicius de Moraes, Antonio Carlos Jobim;
• “Manha de carnaval” by Antonio Mariz, Luis Bonfá;
• “Nuages” by Django Reinhardt;
• “Goin’ out of my head” by Teddy Randazzo, Bobby Weinstein;
• “Flyin’ home” by Sid Robin, Lionel Hampton, Benny Goodman.
*”Speak Low”
*”Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out.”


  • Charlie Byrd – guitar
  • Herb Ellis – guitar
  • Barney Kessel – guitar

The three great guitarists are accompanied by Joe Byrd, Charlie’s brother, on bass and Chuch Redd on drums.