Charles Earland – Intensity

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Intensity is an album by organist Charles Earland which was recorded in 1972 and released on the Prestige label.

Allmusic awarded the album 4 stars, stating: “Even if the performances on Intensity weren’t excellent, this Charles Earland session would be required listening for jazz historians because it marked the last recorded documentation of Lee Morgan. Only two days after Intensity was recorded at Rudy Van Gelder’s famous New Jersey studio on February 17, 1972, the influential trumpeter was shot and killed by a girlfriend at the age of 33. Refusing to confine himself to hard bop, Morgan was exploring soul-jazz and fusion during the last years of his life – and his enthusiasm for soul-jazz is hard to miss”.

Track listing:
All compositions by Charles Earland except as indicated.

“Happy ‘Cause I’m Goin’ Home” (Robert Lamm) – 11:15
“Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow” (Gerry Goffin, Carole King) – 6:55
“‘Cause I Love Her” – 9:38
“Morgan” – 10:25
“Lowdown” (Peter Cetera, Danny Seraphine) – 8:20 Bonus track on CD reissue
“Speedball” (Lee Morgan) – 5:19 Bonus track on CD reissue

Charles Earland – organ
Jon Faddis, Virgil Jones, Lee Morgan, Victor Paz – trumpet, flugelhorn
Clifford Adams (on track 1 only), Dick Griffin, Jack Jeffers – trombone
Hubert Laws – flute (and on track 4 only, piccolo flute)
Billy Harper – tenor saxophone (on track 4 only)
William Thorpe – baritone saxophone (on track 4 only)
Maynard Parker (on track 4 only), John Fourie, Greg Millar – guitar
Billy Cobham – drums
Sonny Morgan – congas


Released: 1972
Recorded: February 16 & 17, 1972
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Length: 51:52
Label :Prestige
PR 10041
Producer: Charles Earland