Buddy Rich – Swingin’ New Big Band (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Swingin’ New Big Band is a 1966 live album by Buddy Rich and his big band.

“1966 was a most illogical time for anyone to try forming a new big band but Buddy Rich beat the odds. This CD reissues the first album by the Buddy Rich Orchestra, augmenting the original Lp program with nine previously unissued performances from the same sessions. The arrangements (eight by Oliver Nelson along with charts by Bill Holman, Phil Wilson, Jay Corre, Don Rader and others) swing, put the emphasis on the ensembles and primarily feature Corre’s tenor although trumpeter Bobby Shew, altoist Pete Yellin, pianist John Bunch and guitarist Barry Zweig are also heard from. Most of the songs did not stay in the drummer’s repertoire long (other than Bill Reddie’s adaptation of “West Side Story” and “Sister Sadie”) and in fact only three members of the 17-piece orchestra would still be working for Rich a year later. An enjoyable and somewhat historic set.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:

LP side A:

Ready Mix” (Bill Holman) – 3:22
Basically Blues” (Phil Wilson) – 5:39
Critic’s Choice” (Oliver Nelson) – 3:28
My Man’s Gone Now” (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward) – 3:05
Uptight (Everything’s Alright)” (Henry Cosby, Sylvia Moy, Stevie Wonder) – 2:49

LP side B:

Sister Sadie” (Horace Silver) – 3:15
More Soul” (King Curtis, Nelson) – 4:19
West Side Story Medley (Leonard Bernstein, Stephen Sondheim) – 10:48
“Something’s Coming”

9 bonus tracks added to 1996 CD re-issue:

What’d I Say” (Ray Charles) – 2:56
Hoe Down” (Nelson) – 2:47
Step Right Up” (Nelson) – 3:17
Apples (aka Gino)” (Arthur M. Wiggins) – 2:32
Chicago (That Toddlin’ Town)” (Fred Fisher) – 2:26
In a Mellow Tone” (Duke Ellington) – 3:47
Never Will I Marry” (Frank Loesser) – 2:40
Lament for Lester” (Jay Corre) – 2:45
Naptown Blues” (Wes Montgomery) – 3:29

The Buddy Rich big band:
Gene Quill – alto saxophone, clarinet
Peter Yellin – alto saxophone, flute
Jay Corre, Martin Flax – tenor saxophone, clarinet, flute
Stephen Perlow – baritone saxophone, bass clarinet
Robert Shew, John Sottile, Yoshito Murakami, Walter Battegello – trumpet
Jim Trimble, John Boice – trombone
Dennis Good, Mike Waverley – bass trombone
John Bunch – piano
Barry Zweig – guitar
Carson Smith – bass
Buddy Rich – drums, bandleader

Bill Holman
Oliver Nelson
Don Piestrup
Don Rader
Bill Reddie
Arthur M. Wiggins
Phil Wilson
Jay Corre
John Boice


Released: 1966
Recorded: 1966
Length: 36:45
Label: Pacific Jazz
Producer: Richard Bock