Bob Moses – Bittersuite In The Ozone (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“An exceedingly odd free jazz classic, Bittersuite in the Ozone was recorded in 1973 and reissued by the Brooklyn-based percussion label Amulet in 1999. It features some of the music’s leading lights: bassist Eddie Gomez, drummer Billy Hart, saxophonists David Liebman and Daniel Carter, trumpeters Randy Brecker and John D’earth, tuba virtuoso Howard Johnson, vocalist Jeanne Lee, and more. Bob Moses, pictured inside with a huge hippie Afro, plays not only drums and percussion, but also vibes (on “Glitteragbas Solo”) and rather excellent piano (on the sprawling epic “Stanley Free”). Compositionally, he is at his peak on the very brief, classically influenced “Message to the Music Bizness.” Bittersuite is to some degree a dated period piece, but its radical aesthetic remains a touchstone of sorts for the jazz avant-garde.” – David R. Adler/AllMusic.

Track listing:
A1 Mfwala Myo La La 00:00
A2 Glitteragbas Solo / Bittersuite in the Ozone 08:06
A3 Message To The Music Bizness 21:33
B Stanley Free 23:32

Bob Moses – vibraphone, piano, drums [moroccan, log], voice
John Dearth – trumpet
Randy Brecker – trumpet  (A1, B)
Mike Lawrence – trumpet (A3)
Daniel Carter – tenor saxophone, alto saxophone, flute
David Liebman – tenor saxophone, clarinet, flute (A3)
Howard Johnson – tuba, baritone saxophone, bass saxophone
Stanley Free – piano (B)
Jack Gregg – bass
Eddie Gomez – bass
Jeanne Lee  – vocals
Billy Hart – drums


Label: Mozown ‎– MZ 001
Format: Vinyl, LP
Country: US
Released: 1975