Bennie Green – Hornful of Soul (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Hornful of Soul (also released as Catwalk) is an album by American trombonist Bennie Green recorded in 1960 and released on the Bethlehem label.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
Trombonist Bennie Green’s music was always fun — mostly basic blues, ballads and standards played in a naturally accessible fashion. This obscure Bethlehem LP (not yet reissued on CD) features the distinctive trombonist in two settings. Three songs have a sextet with tenor saxophonist Jimmy Forrest (who sits out on Green’s feature on “My Foolish Heart”), organist Skip Hall (a routine player), bassist Bull Ruther, drummer Art Taylor, and Tommy Lopez on conga. The other five numbers feature the same group with altoist Lem Davis added and pianist Mal Waldron taking Hall’s place. Fine music that has long been overlooked.

Track listing:
All compositions by Bennie Green except as indicated
Summertime” (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward) – 4:55
Groove One” – 5:01
“Lowland-Ism” (Babs Gonzales) – 6:24
“Dibblin’ and Dabblin'” (Gonzales) – 2:54
My Foolish Heart” (Ned Washington, Victor Young) – 4:03
“(Back Home Again in) Indiana” (James F. Hanley, Ballard MacDonald) – 4:34
Catwalk” (Mal Waldron) – 5:37
“Dee Dee” (Lem Davis) – 5:24

Bennie Green – trombone
Lem Davis – alto saxophone (tracks 2-4, 6 & 7)
Jimmy Forrest – tenor saxophone (tracks 1-4, 6 & 7)
Mal Waldron – piano (tracks 2-4, 6 & 7)
Skip Hall – organ (tracks 1, 5 & 6)
Wyatt Ruther – bass
Art Taylor – drums
Tommy Lopez – conga (tracks 1 & 6)

Released: 1961
Recorded: December, 1960
Length: 38:30
Label Bethlehem