Barry Harris Quintet – Newer Than New

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Newer Than New is an album by pianist Barry Harris recorded in 1961 and released on the Riverside label.

The Allmusic review by Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr. awarded the album 4½ stars and stated: “Barry Harris and his colleagues make great jazz without the least bit of self-consciousness.”

“None of these musicians really went on to create a name for themselves; mostly they just remained players who probably deserved wider recognition than they got. However, they’ve created one of those albums which jazzbos love: a bunch of plucky unknowns who recorded a flawed, but exceptional album. Not on the same shelf as Parker and Gillespie, but certainly in the same bookcase.” – All About Jazz.

Track listing:
Mucho Dinero” (Barry Harris) – 3:44
Easy to Love” (Cole Porter) – 4:50
“Burgundy” (Barry Harris) – 7:01
“The Last One” (Barry Harris) – 4:57
“Anthropology” (Dizzy Gillespie, Charlie Parker) – 4:17
“I Didn’t Know What Time It Was” (Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers) – 4:12
“Make Haste” (Barry Harris) – 5:39
“Nightingale” (George Rosner, Fred Wise) – 5:17

Barry Harris – piano
Lonnie Hillyer – trumpet
Charles McPherson – alto saxophone
Ernie Farrow – bass
Clifford Jarvis – drums

Released: 1961
Recorded: September 28, 1961
New York City
Length: 39:57
Label: Riverside
RLP 413
Producer: Orrin Keepnews