Art Farmer – Early Art

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Early Art is an album by trumpeter Art Farmer featuring two sessions recorded in 1954 which was originally released on LP on the New Jazz label in the early 1960s.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
Two of trumpeter Art Farmer’s earlier sessions as a leader are reissued on this CD in the OJC series. Farmer teams up with an all-star quintet (which includes tenor-saxophonist Sonny Rollins, pianist Horace Silver, bassist Percy Heath and drummer Kenny Clarke) for four songs and dominates a quartet (with pianist Wynton Kelly, bassist Addison Farmer and drummer Herbie Lovelle) on six other tunes. Farmer’s sound is lyrical even on the uptempo pieces and he is heard throughout in his early prime. Highlights include “Soft Shoe,” “I’ll Take Romance,” “Autumn Nocturne” and an uptempo “Gone with the Wind.” One should note that the programming differs from what is listed, with “Soft Shoe” (which should have been the opener) actually appearing fifth and the songs listed as appearing second through fifth moving up to first through fourth. Despite that flaw, the music is quite enjoyable and a must for 1950s bop collectors (

Track listing:
All compositions by Art Farmer except as indicated

“Confab in Tempo” – 3:54
I’ll Take Romance” (Oscar Hammerstein II, Ben Oakland) – 4:57
Wisteria” – 4:32
“Autumn Nocturne” (Kim Gannon, Josef Myrow) – 4:05
“Soft Shoe” – 4:59
“I’ve Never Been in Love Before” (Frank Loesser) – 3:49
“I’ll Walk Alone” (Sammy Cahn, Jule Styne) – 3:55
“Gone With the Wind” (Herbert Magidson, Allie Wrubel) – 4:07
“Alone Together” (Howard Dietz, Arthur Schwartz) – 3:59
“Pre Amp” – 3:35

Art Farmer – trumpet
Sonny Rollins – tenor saxophone (tracks 1-2, 5)
Horace Silver (tracks 1-3, 5), Wynton Kelly (tracks 4, 6-10) – piano
Percy Heath (tracks 1-3, 5), Addison Farmer (tracks 4, 6-10) – bass
Kenny Clarke (tracks 1-3, 5), Herbie Lovelle (tracks 4, 6-10) – drums

Released: 1962
Recorded: January 20 and November 9, 1954
Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey
Length: 41:52
Label: New Jazz
NJLP 8258
Producer: Bob Weinstock