Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers – Golden Boy (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Golden Boy (full title Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers Play Selections From the New Musical Golden Boy) is a 1963 album by Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers, performing compositions by Lee Adams and Charles Strouse written for the Broadway musical Golden Boy. The LP was originally released on the Colpix label.

Track listing:
Theme from Golden Boy” – 5:35
Yes I Can” – 5:25
Lorna’s Here” – 5:09
This Is the Life” – 5:56
There’s a Party” – 5:00
I Want to Be with You” – 4:03

Art Blakey – drums
Freddie Hubbard, Lee Morgan – trumpet
Curtis Fuller – trombone, arranger
Julius Watkins – French horn
Bill Barber – tuba
James Spaulding – alto saxophone
Wayne Shorter – tenor saxophone, arranger
Charles Davis – baritone saxophone
Cedar Walton – piano, arranger
Reggie Workman – bass


Released: 1963
Recorded: 1963
New York City
Label: Colpix
CP 478
Producer: Jack Lewis