Archie Shepp – Four For Trane

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Four for Trane is a studio album by tenor saxophonist Archie Shepp released on Impulse! Records in 1965. Four of the five tracks were composed and originally recorded by John Coltrane (released on his albums Giant Steps and Coltrane Plays the Blues) and rearranged by Shepp and trombonist Roswell Rudd. The other featured players are trumpeter Alan Shorter (brother of Wayne, here playing flugelhorn), alto saxophonist John Tchicai (Shepp’s fellow member of the New York Contemporary Five), bassist Reggie Workman and drummer Charles Moffett (who had worked extensively with Ornette Coleman). Coltrane himself co-produced the album alongside Bob Thiele.

Track listing:
All compositions by John Coltrane, except where noted.

“Syeeda’s Song Flute” – 8:30
“Mr. Syms” – 7:41
“Cousin Mary” – 7:14
“Naima” – 7:09
“Rufus (Swung His Face At Last To The Wind, Then His Neck Snapped)” (Shepp) – 6:24

Archie Shepp – tenor saxophone
Alan Shorter – flugelhorn
John Tchicai – alto saxophone
Roswell Rudd – trombone, arranger
Reggie Workman – double bass
Charles Moffett – drums


Released: January 1965
Recorded: August 10, 1964
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Length: 36:38
Label: Impulse!
Producer: John Coltrane
Bob Thiele