Antonio Carlos Jobim – Passarim (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Passarim is a studio album by Antônio Carlos Jobim, released by Verve Records in 1987.

“Passarim is Jobim’s major statement of the ’80s, emerging during a time when his concerns were turning increasingly toward the Planet Earth. The title song is one of Jobim’s most haunting creations, a cry of pain about the the destruction of the Brazilian rain forest that resonates in the memory for hours. Also, by this time, Jobim had resumed touring with a large group containing friends and family, and they carry a great deal of the load here, with lots of airy female backup vocals, two worthy songs by Jobim’s multi-talented son Paulo, and another by flutist/singer Danilo Caymmi. Recorded entirely in Rio, the record’s overall sound is very different from Jobim’s ’60s and ’70s work: denser, hazier, still grounded in the samba yet rougher in texture (as is Jobim’s voice). Though not as immediately winning as the Creed Taylor-produced albums, this music repays repeated listening — particularly the extended suite from Jobim’s score for the film Gabriela — and there are samples of his wry humor in “Chansong” and the bossa nova reworking of “Fascinatin’ Rhythm””. – Richard S. Ginell/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Passarim” – 3:36 (English version)
“Bebel” – 3:11
“Borzeguim”– 4:23
“Looks Like December” (A.C. Jobim, Chico Buarque) – 3:45
“Isabella” (Gil Goldstein, Paulo Jobim) – 3:22
“Fascinatin’ Rhythm” (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) – 2:10
“Chansong” – 3:18
“Samba do Soho” (Ronaldo Bastos, P. Jobim) – 2:59
“Luiza” – 2:32
“Brazil Nativo” (Paulo César Pinheiro, Danilo Caymmi) – 3:51
“Gabriela” (A.C. Jobim, Jararaca) – 7:56


Antônio Carlos Jobim – piano and vocals, lead vocals (1-4, 6-7, 9, 11, 13), arrangement (6)
Paulo Jobim – guitar and vocals, lead vocal (5, 8), arrangements (1, 5, 7, 13)
Danilo Caymmi – flute and vocals, lead vocal (10)
Jaques Morelenbaum – cello, arrangements (3, 9, 10)
Sebastião Neto – bass
Paulo Braga – drums
Ana Lontra Jobim – vocals
Elizabeth Jobim – vocals
Maúcha Adnet – vocals
Paula Morelenbaum – vocals
Simone Caymmi – vocals
Chico Buarque – lead vocal (12)
Rubens Ohana de Miranda – percussion (2, 8, 10)


Released: September 1987
Recorded: Nov 1986-Mar 1987
Studio: Polygram Studios, Rio de Janeiro
Length: 49:15
Label: Verve
Producer: Paulo Jobim, Jaques Morelenbaum