Anne Phillips – Born To Be Blue

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Even though Anne Phillips had a successful career in music, BORN TO BE BLUE (1959) was the first and only album as a jazz soloist that she recorded during her prime. Afterward she became one of the most respected and in-demand studio performers in the music business in New York City in the ’60s, singing in backing groups on countless recording sessions, as well as writing, arranging and producing commercials. She wouldn’t make her next solo vocal album until 2001!

BORN TO BE BLUE finds her in the company of brilliant jazz players, such as guitarist Mundell Lowe, trumpeter Doc Severinsen, bassist Milt Hinton, and drummer Osie Johnson, among others.

Track listing:
Side A
A1 Lonelyville
A2 I’ve Got To Pass Your House To Get To Mine
A3 A Stranger In Town
A4 I Don’t Want To Walk Without You
A5 There Will Never Be Another You
A6 When Sunny Gets Blue
Side B
B1 Born To Be Blue
B2 Saturday Night Is The Loneliest Night Of The Week
B3 Easy Street
B4 For Heaven’s Sake
B5 It Could Happen To You
B6 You Don’t Know What Love Is


Anne Phillips  – vocal

Kermit Leslie and His Orchestra
Doc Severinsen (tp), Walt Levinsky (woodwinds), Bernie Leighton (p), Mundell Lowe, Barry Galbraith (g), Milt Hinton, George Duvivier (b), Osie Johnson (d), plus string orchestra.


Label: Roulette – R 25090
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Mono
Country: US
Released: 1959