Ambrose Akinmusire – Origami Harvest (2018)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!

Acclaimed trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire breaks new ground with his 4th Blue Note album Origami Harvest, a surprisingly fluid study in contrasts that pits contemporary classical wilding against deconstructed hip-hop, with bursts of left-field jazz, funk, spoken work, and soul with help from the Mivos Quartet and art-rap expatriate Kool A.D. (Das Racist), along with pianist Sam Harris, drummer Marcus Gilmore, and saxophonist Walter Smith III. The work was commissioned by the Liquid Music Series and Ecstatic Music Fest and the songs actively respond to societal divides, the way our politics hold us emotionally hostage, and the ever-growing list of black lives ended by structural racism.

Origami Harvest is a studio album by American jazz trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire. The album was released on October 12, 2018 by Blue Note.

An album #2 in the JazzTimes’  top 40 new albums  of the year (2018).

“Origami Harvest is his most adventurous work to date, a collaboration with the forward-thinking Mivos string quartet and mischievous rapper Kool AD that makes a nonsense of musical categories.” – The Guardian.

“This might be the golden age for jazz string writing.” – DownBeat.

“Origami Harvest may not work for everybody, but for those who take the time to explore the unexpected bends and folds in Akinmusire’s construction, a wealth of discoveries can be found.” – AllMusic.

Track listing:
1. “A Blooming Bloodfruit in a Hoodie” Michael Aalberg 12:57
2. “Miracle and Streetfight” Akinmusire, Victor Vásquez 15:05
3. “Americana / The Garden Waits for You to Match Her Wilderness” Akinmusire, Victor Vásquez 10:40
4. “Particle / Spectra” Akinmusire, Terrard Robinson, Lmbr-Jck T 8:04
5. “Free, White and 21” Akinmusire 3:06
6. “The Lingering Velocity of the Dead’s Ambitions” Akinmusire 9:54

Ambrose Akinmusire – trumpet, keyboards, whistle, words
Kool A.D. – vocals
LMBR-JCK T – vocals (track 4)
MIVOS Quartet – strings
Walter Smith III – saxophone (track 3)
Sam Harris – piano, keyboards
Michael Aalberg – keyboards
Marcus Gilmore – drums, computer

Released: October 12, 2018
Recorded: February 16, 2017
Studio: Brooklyn Recording Studio
Length: 59:48
Label: Blue Note
Producer: Ambrose Akinmusire