Al Haig Trio And Sextets – Featuring Stan Getz and Wardell Gray

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“Bop pianist Al Haig was unfortunately overlooked, with few opportunities to record for a long stretch in the middle of his career. Fortunately, this Original Jazz Classics compilation highlights several sessions recorded between 1949 and 1954 for Period. The first eight tracks feature bassist Bill Crow and drummer Lee Abrams, where Haig’s light touch is especially of interest. A number of these pieces were recorded by Art Tatum, but Haig puts his own stamp on them, inserting a humorous bit of “Sing, Sing, Sing!” into an easygoing “Taboo” (to contrast with Tatum’s showstopping virtuoso arrangement) and offering a rambunctious bop treatment of “Just You, Just Me” as a quicky. Four tracks feature Haig in a group with tenor saxophonist Wardell Gray and guitarist Jimmy Raney, with vocalist Terry Swope scatting in unison on two of them. Best is Haig’s potent original “In a Pinch.” Stan Getz is present (along with Raney) on the last four selections, including a breezy take of Haig’s “Skull Buster” (a transparent reworking of “[Back Home Again In] Indiana”) and the pianist’s lighthearted “Poop Deck.” Released as a limited-edition reissue in 2000, bop fans are advised not to tarry if interested in this excellent compilation of Al Haig’s early recorded efforts.” – Ken Dryden/AllMusic.

Track listing:
1 Just One Of Those Things 3:56
2 Yardbird Suite 3:03
3 Taboo 2:41
4 Mighty Like A Rose 4:47
5 S’Wonderful 3:33
6 Just You, Just Me 1:49
7 The Moon Was Yellow 2:44
8 ‘Round Midnight 5:18
9 Sugar Hill 2:29
10 Five Star 2:50
11 It’s The Talk Of The Town 3:04
12 In A Pinch 3:05
13 Skull Buster 2:22
14 Ante Room 2:41
15 Poop Deck 2:48
16 Pennies From Heaven 3:16

Bill Crow (tracks: 1 to 8), Gene Ramey (tracks: 13 to 16), Tommy Potter (tracks: 9 to 12) – bass
Carlos Vidal – congas
Charlie Perry (tracks: 9 to 16), Lee Abrams (tracks: 1 to 8) – drums
Jimmy Raney (tracks: 9 to 16) – guitar
Al Haig – piano
Stan Getz (tracks: 13 to 16), Wardell Gray (tracks: 9 to 12) – tenor saxophone
Terry Swope (tracks: 9, 10) – voice

Label: Original Jazz Classics ‎– OJCCD-1929-2, Period Records ‎– SPL-1118
Series: Original Jazz Classics Limited Edition Series
Format: CD, Compilation, Limited Edition, Remastered
Country: US
Released: 2000
Recorded: May 12, 1949 – March 13, 1954