Airto – Virgin Land

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Virgin Land is an album by Brazilian jazz drummer and percussionist Airto Moreira (who was credited simply as “Airto“) featuring performances recorded in 1974 and released on the Salvation label.

“An all-star cast accompanies Brazilian percussion master Airto Moreira on this percolating collection of jazz fusion pieces. Produced by drummer extraordinaire Billy Cobham, the album locks into a steamy groove on Stanley Clarke’s “Stanley’s Tune” and never lets up. The Middle Eastern flavor of some of the melodies, Moreira and wife Flora Purim’s unique vocalizations, and the use of unusual instrumentation on several cuts help make this recording a unique highlight of the electric fusion era. Standout soloists include Eddie Daniels on clarinet and guitarists David Amaro and Gabriel DeLorme, while bassist Clarke provides his usual stellar performance.” – Jim Newsom/AllMusic.

Track listing:
All compositions by Airto Moreira except as indicated
“Stanley’s Tune” (Stanley Clarke) – 4:34
“Musikana” (Gabriel DeLorme) – 7:08
“Virgin Land” – 8:19
“Peasant Dance” (Milcho Leviev) – 3:33
“Lydian Riff” (Leviev) – 7:22
“Hot Sand” – 5:35
“I Don’t Have To Do What I Don’t Want To Do” (DeLorme, Moreira) – 3:17

Airto – drums, percussion, vocals
George Duke – keyboards, piano, synthesizer
Milcho Leviev – keyboards
Kenny Ascher – piano, mellotron
David Amaro, Gabriel DeLorme – electric guitar
Alex Blake, Stanley Clarke – electric bass
Flora Purim – vocals
Eddie Daniels – clarinet
George Marge – oboe, piccolo
Jane Taylor – bassoon


Released: 1974
Recorded: February 4 & 19, 1974
Los Angeles, California and New York City
Length: 39:48
Label: Salvation
SAL 701
Producer: Billy Cobham