Abbey Lincoln – That’s Him (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


That’s Him! is the second album by American jazz vocalist Abbey Lincoln featuring tracks recorded in 1957 for the Riverside label.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
Singer Abbey Lincoln’s second recording, and her first for Riverside, finds her accompanied by quite an all-star roster: tenor saxophonist Sonny Rollins, trumpeter Kenny Dorham, pianist Wynton Kelly, bassist Paul Chambers, and drummer Max Roach. Even this early, she was already a major jazz singer with a style of her own. Lincoln was careful from this point on to only interpret lyrics that she believed in. Her repertoire has a few superior standards (including several songs such as “I Must Have That Man!” and “Don’t Explain” that are closely associated with Billie Holiday) plus Oscar Brown, Jr.’s “Strong Man” and Phil Moore’s “Tender as a Rose”; she takes the latter unaccompanied. “Don’t Explain” is slightly unusual in that Paul Chambers is absent and Wynton Kelly makes an extremely rare appearance on bass. All three of Abbey Lincoln’s Riverside albums are well worth the listen. [Some reissues add alternate takes of “I Must Have That Man!” and “Porgy” to the original program.] (

Track listing:
Strong Man” (Oscar Brown, Jr.) – 5:04
Happiness Is a Thing Called Joe” (Harold Arlen, E.Y. “Yip” Harburg) – 5:57
My Man” (Jacques Charles, Channing Pollack, Albert Willemetz, Maurice Yvain) – 3:57
Tender as a Rose” (Phil Moore) – 3:00
That’s Him” (Ogden Nash, Kurt Weill) – 3:26
I Must Have That Man!” (Dorothy Fields, Jimmy McHugh) – 4:00
I Must Have That Man!” [take 3] (Fields, McHugh) – 3:56 Bonus track on CD reissue
Porgy” (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward) – 4:27
Porgy” [take 1] (Gershwin, Gershwin, Hetward) – 4:30 Bonus track on CD reissue
When a Woman Loves a Man” (Bernie Hanighen, Gordon Jenkins, Johnny Mercer) – 4:28
Don’t Explain” (Arthur Herzog, Jr., Billie Holiday) – 6:39

Abbey Lincoln – vocals
Kenny Dorham – trumpet
Sonny Rollins – tenor saxophone
Wynton Kelly – piano (except “Don’t Explain”); bass (“Don’t Explain”)
Paul Chambers – bass (except “Don’t Explain”)
Max Roach – drums

Released: 1957
Recorded: October 28, 1957
Reeves Sound Studios, New York City
Length: 48:48
Label: Riverside
RLP 12-251
Producer Bill Grauer and Orrin Keepnews