Yusef Lateef – Jazz And The Sounds Of Nature

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Jazz and the Sound of Nature is an album by multi-instrumentalist Yusef Lateef recorded in 1957 and released on the Savoy label.

Track listing:
“Seulb” (Wilbur Harden) – 6:13
“Song of Delilah” (Ray Evans, Jay Livingston, Victor Young) – 8:21
Sounds of Nature” (Yusef Lateef) – 3:47
“I Got It Bad (and That Ain’t Good)” (Duke Ellington, Paul Francis Webster) – 6:19
“8540 Twelfth Street” (Yusef Lateef) – 4:25
“Check Blues” -(Yusef Lateef)  6:40
“Gypsy Arab” (Harden) – 3:26

Yusef Lateef – tenor saxophone, flute – track 2, tambourine, Indian reed whistle
Wilbur Harden – flugelhorn, tambourine
Hugh Lawson – piano, ocarina
Ernie Farrow – bass, rebab
Oliver Jackson – drums, gong


Released: 1958
Recorded: October 9 & 10, 1957
Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey
Label: Savoy
MG 12120
Producer: Ozzie Cadena