Wes Montgomery – Movin’ Along (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Movin’ Along is the fifth album by American jazz guitarist Wes Montgomery, released in 1960. It has been reissued by Original Jazz Classics. The reissue includes two alternate takes.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
Because it was recorded between two of Wes Montgomery’s best-known albums (Incredible Jazz Guitar and So Much Guitar), this particular LP is a bit underrated. The great guitarist is teamed with flutist James Clay (who switches to tenor on Montgomery’s “So Do It!”), pianist Victor Feldman, bassist Sam Jones, and drummer Louis Hayes for four standards (highlighted by Clifford Brown’s “Sandu” and “Body and Soul”), Sam Jones’ “Says You,” and two Montgomery originals. This is an often overlooked gem (https://goo.gl/o9hDCB).

Track listing:
“Movin’ Along” (Wes Montgomery) – 5:40
Tune-Up” (Miles Davis) – 4:27
Tune-Up [Alternate take]” (Davis) – 4:39
“I Don’t Stand a Ghost of a Chance with You” (Victor Young, Ned Washington, Bing Crosby) – 5:02
Sandu” (Clifford Brown) – 3:23
Body and Soul” (Edward Heyman, Robert Sour, Frank Eyton, Johnny Green) – 7:19
“Body and Soul [Alternate take]” (Heyman, Sour, Eyton, Green) – 11:17
So Do It!” (Montgomery) – 6:05
Says You” (Sam Jones) – 4:59

Wes Montgomery – guitar, bass guitar (on side 1, tracks 2 & 4; side 2, track 1)
Sam Jones – bass
Louis Hayes – drums
James Clay – flute, tenor saxophone
Victor Feldman – piano


Released: 1960
Recorded: October 12, 1960 at United Recording Studios, Los Angeles, CA
Length: 52:51 (Reissue)
Label: Riverside
Producer: Orrin Keepnews