Weather Report – This is This (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


This Is This! is the sixteenth and final studio album by Weather Report, released in June 1986. The band thought that it had fulfilled its contract with Columbia Records through the release of the previous album, Sportin’ Life. This, however, was not the case, and the band had to release one more record (

AllMusic Review by Richard S. Ginell:
Or shall we say, that is that, the final album by a group called Weather Report, now captained and guided by Josef Zawinul. The photo of Zawinul and Wayne Shorter shaking hands on the back cover of the LP is definitely a farewell gesture, for Shorter turns up on only three of the eight cuts (having left the band while this record was being made), and the record’s world-music slant gives it a closer kinship with Zawinul’s subsequent albums than with WR’s earlier output. Already on the delicate “I’ll Never Forget You,” Zawinul’s synthesizer is replacing Wayne as a simulated solo wind voice. Minu Cinelu is on percussion on vocals, Victor Bailey on bass, and co-producer Peter Erskine returns for one final fling on drums (Omar Hakim handles the sticks on “Consequently”). The best thing on the album is the joyous title track, which swaggers along with the help of guest guitarist Carlos Santana’s flashy rock obligatos. Santana also takes the lead on “Man With the Copper Fingers,” another preview of textures to come in Zawinul’s future bands. A somewhat diffuse passage of transition, This Is This is the weakest link in the impressive string of WR albums (Zawinul’s prime material from this period can be found on his solo album Dialects, released only four months before this one). (

Track listing:
All tracks are written by Joe Zawinul, except where noted.

“This Is This” – 7:06
“Face the Fire” – 2:34
“I’ll Never Forget You” – 7:51
“Jungle Stuff, Part 1” (Mino Cinelu) – 4:43
“Man With the Copper Fingers” – 6:12
“Consequently” (Victor Bailey) – 4:56
“Update” – 6:08
“China Blues” – 6:11

Weather Report

Josef Zawinul – keyboards, cover concept
Wayne Shorter – saxophones
Victor Bailey – bass
Mino Cinelu – percussion, vocals
Peter Erskine – drums
Omar Hakim – drums on “Consequently”

Additional musicians
Carlos Santana – guitar on “This Is This” & “Man With the Copper Fingers”
Marva Barnes – vocals
Colleen Coil – vocals
Siedah Garrett – vocals
Darryl Phinnessee – vocals


Released: June 1986
Length: 45:41
Label: Columbia
Producer: Joe Zawinul, Wayne Shorter