The New Tony Williams Lifetime – Believe It

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Believe It is the first album by The New Tony Williams Lifetime, released in 1975 on Columbia Records. The New Lifetime was a jazz fusion band formed by the drummer Tony Williams with Allan Holdsworth on guitar, Alan Pasqua on keyboards and Tony Newton on bass.

AllMusic awarded the album with 4 out of 5 stars. The Rolling Stone Jazz Record Guide also awarded 4 out of 5 stars and in his review, John Swenson describes the albums Believe It and Million Dollar Legs as “both funk fusion delights featuring the playing of ex-Soft Machine axeman Allan Holdsworth”.

Track listing:
“Snake Oil” (Tony Newton) — 6:30
“Fred” (Allan Holdsworth) — 6:48
“Proto-Cosmos” (Alan Pasqua) — 4:02
“Red Alert” (Newton) — 4:39
“Wildlife” (Tony Williams) — 5:22
“Mr Spock” (Holdsworth) — 6:15

Allan Holdsworth – guitar
Alan Pasqua – keyboards
Tony Newton – bass
Tony Williams – drums


Released: 1975
Recorded: July 1975
Length: 44:11
Label: Columbia
Producer: Bruce Botnick