The New Jazz Orchestra – Le déjeuner sur l’herbe (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The New Jazz Orchestra (NJO) was a British jazz big band active from 1963 to 1970.

“Déjeuner is one of the finest British jazz records of any period. The obvious comparison in terms of its overall sonic impression has to be Gil Evans.” – Duncan Heining/AllAboutJazz.

Track listing:

A1 Le déjeuner sur l’herbe (Neil Ardley) 0:00
A2 Naïma (John Coltrane) 7:35
A3 Angle (Howard Riley) 12:12
A4 Ballad (Mike Taylor) 17:14
B1 Dusk Fire (Michael Garrick) 22:39
B2 Nardis (Miles Davis) 27:58
B3 Study (Alexandre Tansman) 33:01
B4 Rebirth (Michael Gibbs) 39:35


Jack Bruce – bass
Neil Ardley – director
Jon Hiseman – drums
Dave Gelly – tenor saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet
Jim Philip – tenor saxophone, flute, clarinet
Dick Heckstall-Smith – tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone
Barbara Thompson – tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute
Derek Wadsworth, John Mumford, Michael Gibbs, Tony Russell – trombone
Derek Watkins, Harry Beckett, Henry Lowther – trumpet
Ian Carr – trumpet, flugelhorn
George Smith – tuba
Frank Ricotti – vibraphone, marimba


Label: Verve Records ‎– SVLP 9236
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo
Country: UK
Released: 1969
Released: 2015
Lable: Dusk Fire